record: (Default)
[personal profile] record
 It used to be pretty easy for me to know what books I've read. I have a terrible memory, but I have my reading history turned on on my library account (guess I'll just have to hope nobody ever does some kind of a Patriot Act request!), and anything that wasn't from the library was
probably sitting around in my bookcase. But then I got an ereader as a birthday present halfway through 2011, so now I'm not entirely sure anymore. I've read a LOT of books on my Nook, and I tend to just erase them after finishing, since neither my SD card nor hard drive have much spare space. (If I ever get around to building my media server, maybe I'll just keep them there forever.)



So: I definitely read 106 books from the library. I'm going to guess at least 10 "miscellaneous" books that were lent to me, or textbooks. Then ebooks, well, I'm going to guess 50 but it could have been many more, or a bit less. Either way, considering how busy I've been with grad school and the fact that reading all of George R.R. Martin's books took up a huge amount of page-turning time, I think I did pretty well.

My favorites, in roughly chronological order:
Urgent 2nd Class by Nick Bantock (nonfiction about crafts)
The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer (YA sci-fi about cloning and border politics)
The Sky Inside by Clare Dunkle (YA sci-fi in which someone escapes The Domes and has an awesome robot friend)
Mary Ann in Autumn by Armistead Maupin (lgbt fiction; it STILL made me feel all wistful to type its title almost a year later, though)
Almost Perfect by Brian Katcher (YA lgbt; really good but should have a trigger warning for hate crime-y stuff)
Troubled Waters by Sharon Shinn (fantasy; I didn't like this as much as her Twelve Houses series, but it was still fun and had some intriguing world building)
Catching Fire and Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins (YA sci-fi; I read The Hunger Games before the end of 2010 and then the sequels at the beginning of 2011, I think)
The Terror by Dan Simmons (horror -- set in Antarctica! This was totally the book I was reading while standing in line to see the president when he spoke here after the Giffords shooting, too.)
The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver (fiction; this was the year I finally read it, and after I finally got into it, it was amazing; it made me want to reread some of Doris Lessing's stuff)
Shadow Tag by Louise Erdrich (fiction; I've been kind of obsessed with the story of her and Michael Dorris's great-on-the-surface but secretly horrible family life; this is probably the closest to the truth of the story that anyone will ever get)
The DUFF by Kody Keplinger (YA fiction about the Designated Ugly Fat Friend with one of my favorite narrators ever)
Election by Tom Perotta (fiction; funnier than the movie)
Bad Mother by Ayelet Waldman (nonfiction essays about parenting)
After by Amy Efaw (YA fiction about, well, I won't say but a Ripped From the Headlines kind of thing)
Zombies vs. Unicorns anthology (YA fantasy/sci-fi short stories)
The Inferior by Peader O Guilin (YA sci-fi; trigger warning for cannibalism, but it's great if you can stomach it)
Your Call is (Not That) Important to Us by Emily Yellin (nonfiction about the customer service industry)
Full Catastrophe Living by Jon Kabat-Zinn (nonfiction about meditation)
Siberia by Ann Halam (YA sci-fi; REALLY CUTE ANIMAL FRIENDS)
If You Come Softly by Jacqueline Woodson (YA fiction, sort of an interracial Romeo and Juliet thing that is terribly sad)
Homebody by Orson Scott Card (horror...ish? It was really weird, but I like it more in retrospect)
Dark Places and Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn (horror; really really amazing writing in transgressive fiction style to which I aspire, to the point where I was almost too jealous to read it)
The Adventuress by Audrey Niffenegger (graphic novel)
The Strain by Guillermo Del Toro and Chuck Hogan (horror -- yeah, vampires, but it was really good)
Sickened by Julie Gregory (nonfiction about Munchausen's by proxy; I kept having that deja-vu feeling while I was reading it, but I'm not sure if I'd already read it before or that she was basically the female Augusten Burroughs)
My Name is Memory by Ann Brasheres (fiction...NOT YA! There is weird reincarnation sex!)
A Box of Darkness by Sally Rider Brady (nonfiction memoir about a marriage with a big secret unearthed after the husband died)
The 188th Crybaby Brigade by Joel Chasnoff (nonfiction memoir about an idealistic Jewish teenager who decides to join the Israeli army)
Homer and Langley by E.L. Doctorow (yes, LITERARY FICTION about HOARDERS!)
Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro (sci-fi/fiction, probably the best book I read last year)
Prom and Prejudice by Elizabeth Eulberg (YA fiction, very funny and light)
Bossypants by Tina Fey (nonfiction humor/memoir)
Making It: Radical Home Ec for a Post-Consumer World by Kelly Coyne (nonfiction DIY/survivalism)
Everything written so far by Jennifer McMahon (horror/fiction; I got kind of obsessed with this author. If you want to try one of hers, I recommend starting with Dismantled, which is a readalike for Donna Tartt's Secret History)
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot (nonfiction about, well, it was a bestseller, you probably already know what it's about, but if not, I encourage you to find out!)
Player One by Douglas Coupland (sci-fi; I'm reading Ready Player One right now and that's kinda similar, but still better than anything Coupland's written recently otherwise)
The entire Song of Ice and Fire series, up until now, by George R.R. Martin (fantasy)
The Hour I First Believed by Wally Lamb (fiction about Columbine)
The City & The City by China Mieville (sci-fi about two fictional Eastern European cities that exist in the same physical space, but it's illegal for people in one to notice the other; very Kafka)
Before I Go to Sleep by S.J. Watson (mystery/suspense, very Memento, but with a female main character
Crush: 26 Real-Life Tales of First Love anthology (essays)
Companions of the Night by Vivian Vande Velde (YA horror...okay, yeah, kind of a vampire romance, shutup...)
Wither by Lauren DeStefano (YA sci-fi, the one where everyone has a virus that makes them die young)
Reality Is Broken by Jane McGonigal (nonfiction about gaming, super interesting and inspiring, and okay, a little vindicating, too)
This Is Not Your City by Caitlin Horrocks (fiction/short stories; really funny in a dark, dry way)
Columbine by David Cullen (nonfiction)
Secret Historian by Justin Spring (nonfiction biography  -- this was for my book club)
Down and Out in the Magic Kingdom by Cory Doctorow (sci-fi, free and LEGAL online!)
Poisoned by Jeff Benedict (nonfiction about the Jack in the Box e coli outbreak)
How to Lie with Statistics by Darrell Huff (nonfiction; I had read it before though)
Savvy by Ingrid Law (YA or maybe children's fantasy, really fun, this was recommended by a coworker)
When She Woke by Hillary Jordan (more literary sci-fi; I'll have a review of this posted to the book blog I write for someday)
11/22/63 by Stephen King (horror/sci-fi, actually a lot better than most of his recent stuff)
Shortcomings by Adrian Tomine (graphic novel)
The Magicians and The Magician King by Lev Grossman (fantasy, I thought they were really excellent, sort of an adult Harry Potter, although you'll either love or hate it within a few chapters)






 
From:
Anonymous( )Anonymous This account has disabled anonymous posting.
OpenID( )OpenID You can comment on this post while signed in with an account from many other sites, once you have confirmed your email address. Sign in using OpenID.
User
Account name:
Password:
If you don't have an account you can create one now.
Subject:
HTML doesn't work in the subject.

Message:

 
Notice: This account is set to log the IP addresses of everyone who comments.
Links will be displayed as unclickable URLs to help prevent spam.

Profile

record: (Default)
record

July 2013

S M T W T F S
 123456
789 10111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags